Pop Goes The Elbow

Well… I wore the medic hat. You can call me Doc Kistemann.  Recently, my family visited California Adventures at Disneyland to enjoy the holiday themed events and lights.  There I had the opportunity to wear my “hat” (not my goofy one; the medic one). While waiting in line to ride the toboggan at Anna and Elsa’s Frozen Wonderland, my son got tired of waiting and wanted some of Olaf’s warm hugs. With the full weight of his little body, he threw himself to the ground.  What would have been simply an embarrassing moment turned into a much sadder one. I was holding his hands when he dropped. Out popped the elbow. I knew he was hurt but I didn’t realize to what extent. We went down the toboggan ride and immediately went into the Frozen Sing-a-long.

That’s when Evan became a hot mess and really cried. My husband thought his elbow may have popped out of place and took him to the nurse. The Disneyland nurse gave him ibuprofen but she wasn’t allowed to set anything.  A similar incident happened to my daughter a year or two ago with my mother so I was familiar with what to do.  Last time, I contacted my brother who is a physical therapist for instructions. He told me what to do and to search YouTube for Nursemaid’s Elbow.  I did and was able to pop Sarah’s elbow back in place.  This time I quickly went to YouTube to remind me what needed to be done.  It took two or three times but I was able to pop Evan’s elbow back into place. Within minutes my son went from complete misery to a happy little boy again. Here’s a link to the video I used. I recommend this video to all moms out there because let’s be honest kids are crazy.

** Make sure to keep the arm extended and the palm of the hand facing up**

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

