New Year. New Me. Well that’s the Goal.


DH (dear hubby) has been working out and asking me to make healthier meals for the last few months.  Lucky him-he drops the weight fast.  I do not.  I won’t actually; not until I stop breastfeeding in a year or so.  I could and have used this as an excuse but not now. I’m following the cue of my DH.  So…the other day I made a few goals that benefit me physically- eat healthier (meat 3 times a week) and exercise regularly as well as spiritually.

12508761_10153769054601043_2940194948105945867_nI started with a colon and total body cleanse by #JustifiedLabs.   I thought it’d be a good way place to start.  I got it at a discount in exchange for an honest review. The bottle recommends taking 1-2 a day, no more than 3.  I played it safe and took one a day for 5 days.  It had a similar effect to a stool softener.  The product claimed to “not only remove debris from the lower intestines but also eliminate toxins throughout your entire body. After your body has eliminated these damaging toxins you will feel an increase in daily energy levels and a boost in your metabolism.”  I’ve never done a pill cleanse before so I don’t have anything to compare it to, but hey no negative effects so yea!  Let’s just say things move easily down there.

The next step was to focus on increasing my fruits and veggies and minimizing the amount of meat we eat.  Planning a meatless meal is not easy! I learned that a few years ago when my father went almost completely raw/vegan after receiving a poor medical diagnosis. It’s so easy to pick a meat and add a side.  It seriously requires planning and time searching on Pinterest.  I actually created a meatless meal board on Pinterest.  You can find it here.  Now I feel a sense of pride and “look at me” when shopping.  My cart is full of healthy items like apples, cuties, beets, zucchini, and more.  I love it when my son asks for a ball- code for cutie.  Both kids actually are really good at eating what I cook.  They enjoy green smoothies, Borsht (Russian beet soup), couscous and veggies.  The other day Sarah got herself a snack from the fridge- raw broccoli.  Who does that?  Honestly, I need to be more like them.

12557002_10153769095886043_1926985943_oEating healthier is much easier than exercising for me.  I started the T25 dvd set that I purchased a year or so ago.  It’s freak’n hard.  I wanted to die 5 minutes i.  At 16:42 I almost gave up.  I feel things jiggle that really shouldn’t be jiggling and oh my….jumping post kids is not pretty.  Can we say depends anyone?  But I know I need to stick it out.  My goal is a minimum of 3 days a week.  For someone who grew up dancing and playing sports, even up to my early years of marriage, 3 days seems like a bad joke but you gotta start somewhere, right?

Eating healthier and exercising are great but not enough.  Again I’m taking cue from my DH and gonna work on my spirituality.  I can’t express how impressed with my husband who makes a sincere effort to read his scriptures early morning.  He is the one who initiates family prayer and scripture study and he is always willing to help others.  He wants our kids to grow up seeing him read scriptures, be kind and serve.  I contribute by having the missionaries over often for meals, praying with the kiddos and having spiritual conversations.  But I need to be better.  As a returned missionary, I know how to search and truly study the scriptures and yet rarely do.  My goal- read the blessed books our Father in Heaven left for us to lift and guide us daily.  That means, everyday, I will read scriptures.  The Proclamation to the World, a declaration I fully believe states: “Mothers are primarily responsible for the nurture of their children.” I need to nurture their spiritual development! I need to be the example.  I need to be more Christlike.

As a Latter-Day Saint (aka Mormon) I am blessed to know that our Father in Heaven loves us enough to not leave us alone. He has given us prophets today just as He did in the days of Abraham and Moses.  Even today we can receive modern revelation.  I believe that the Word of Wisdom as found in D&C 89:1-21 is modern revelation and that as we strive to live by it precepts we will be blessed.  In the book Teachings of Presidents of the Church: George Albert Smith it reads “He has made us valuable promises, if we will obey this law,—promises of wisdom, of health and strength, and that the destroying angel shall pass us by and not hurt us, as he did the children of Israel [see D&C 89:18–21].”

The Lord has promised mental and physical strength.  I’m all for that!  I swear I’m losing brain cells with each child.  And D&C 89:19-20  promises that as I live in accordance with the Word of Wisdom I “shall find wisdom and great treasures of knowledge, even hidden treasures.  I will be able to “run and not be weary, and shall walk and not faint” something T25 reminded me that I cannot do at this time.  hehe.

So there you have it.  New Year and hopefully a newer and improved me, both physically, mentally and spiritually.  What are your goals?

 

 

Leave a Reply

